Thread: Jim Balent Interview!

1. MattGrant Guest

Jim Balent Interview!

Eight years after starting BroadSword comics, Jim Balent's Tarot is hitting issue #50. Jim was kind enough to take some time to chat with Project Fanboy about the past, the future, and the disappointing realities of racecar driving...

Matt Grant: First off, thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule to talk with Project Fanboy! Starting at the beginning, as it were, how did you originally get interested in comics?

Jim Balent: I've been drawing since I was 5 years old. When I got older and found out that I could draw comics for a living, I knew what my career would be.

MG: At what point did you realize that drawing comics was what you wanted to do with your life?

JB: I fell in love with comics at a young age. I remember saying that I wanted to be either a comic artist or a race car driver. (I was into Speed Racer back then. But when I found out that race cars didn't come with saw blades and couldn't jump over other cars... I went back to wanting to be a cartoon artist.)

MG: There were rumors flying about your departure from Catwoman, which, at this point, is older news, and you've put those to rest, but did you face any resentment from fans for walking away from the possibility of doing other DC (or even Marvel) titles?

JB: Many fans have come up to me and said that they really enjoyed my run on Catty. They were all sorry to see me go. Not one of them resented me. The rumor mill in this industry is amazing. To this day I hear the strangest stories about me. I do get offers to do main stream books, so maybe someday you will see my name on another title but right now, I'm still working on what I love.