Comic Book News - The 2012 #30Characters Challenge Champions Announced

Created on December 3, 2012 and written by
Category: Comic Book News

December 3, 2012 — Newburyport, MA — This morning, ComixTribe has released the names of the 57 participants of the 2012 30 Characters Challenge who succeeded in creating 30 brand new characters in just 30 days. #30 Characters, now in its 4th year, is an annual online challenge meant to spark creativity and community among participants, each attempting to create one new character for every day in the month of November. The online challenge, sponsored by ComixTribe, attracts a huge contingent of artists and writers from around the world interested in creating something new. To date, more than 1,100 participants have attempted #30characters.

“Every year, I’m astounded by the creativity that’s harnessed during #30Characters,” said challenge originator Tyler James. “Four years ago, I started the challenge to get myself out of a creative rut. The fact that it’s been so well-received, and had an impact far and wide is truly remarkable.”

“30 Characters always reminds me that in the end, I like making my own stuff up the best,” said artist and two-time #30Characters champion Greg Gibbons.

2012 #30Characters Champions

Albert Oeswadi Arian Croft Beau Johnson Bianca Calvo Chantel Letumeau Chris Waterman Chrystle Roth CJ Camba Corrie Ferrell, Jr. Dan Nokes DavidVallejo Don Urquhart Earl Yi Erwin Alicdan Ester Salguero Faith Orcino Flávia Godoy Frank Raabirck George Ward Gerta Oparaku Greg Gibbons Hank Hodges Helen Dao Henrik Pasgaard Isaiah Stephens J. James Jaclyn Wright Jana Johnson Jeff Hebert Jesse Hughes Jesse Kiefer John Tompkins Joseph Trahan Ken Bonin Kirk Manley Kristen Keck Lorenzo Ross Michael Beckett Natalie Metzger Nathan Seabolt Neil Segura Orestis Karelis Pablo Martinez Rachel Ross Rodney Fyke Roxanne Baril-Monfette Ruben Kaae Ryan Parsley Sanaa Naeem Sergio Bravo Jr. Shaun Richens Tim Celis Tiph Hunter Trey jackson Val Gary Vince Bayless Vitaliy Konkin

#30Characters in 30 Days by Chris Waterman

To be notified when registration for next year’s #30Characters Challenge is open, sign onto the #30Characters Challenge Mailing List.

About ComixTribe

ComixTribe is a publisher of creator-owned comics, including SCAM, The Red Ten, EPIC, Tears of the Dragon, The Standard, and Runners. In addition to being a publishing imprint, ComixTribe is also an online community, with the mission statement: Creators helping creators make better comics. ComixTribe also sponsors the annual 30 Characters Challenge, an online art event where participants challenge themselves to create 30 brand new characters in just 30 days, one for every day of November. Visit or email publisher Tyler James ( to learn more.


Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

NOTE: You can continue to post as a guest, or you can log in to post a comment. By registering you can stay logged in next time you visit, update your avatar, and more!

  • Log in

  • Name:
    Website (Optional):

    Copyright © 2018 FanboyBuzz. All rights reserved. [ Sitemap ]
    Fanboy Buzz is home to Comic Book News, Comic Book Forums, Comic Book Reviews, Columns and Comic Book Podcasts. Forums.